Wisconsin Stream Monitoring Awards

  • Home
  • » About
  • » Wisconsin Stream Monitoring Awards

The Wisconsin Stream Monitoring Awards recognize individuals and groups for their exemplary efforts in volunteer stream monitoring and related activities, such as their support of stream stewardship, commitment to developing partnerships, and/or sharing their skills and water quality data to benefit Wisconsin streams and rivers.

Nominations for 2024 Awards will open soon!

Do you know of an individual or group who has given substantial time and energy this year to monitor and protect Wisconsin’s streams and rivers? We encourage you to submit a nomination to celebrate their work!

We want to celebrate the wide variety of people and groups across Wisconsin who help to promote water quality in our streams and rivers by participating in volunteer monitoring and stewardship in the state. They may be an adult or youth, an individual or a group of people, an educator, a volunteer or a staff member of an organization or business. They may be relatively new or a veteran to volunteer monitoring. Join us to celebrate the network of people who help monitor and protect our flowing waters!

Award recipients are nominated by their peers. Applications for the awards are reviewed by a committee of UW-Madison Extension staff, WI Department of Natural Resources staff and key partners. Award recipients are celebrated and recognized every spring at the annual Wisconsin Lakes and River Convention in Stevens Point, WI.

Award Criteria:

Some of the qualities we want to celebrate include:

  • A commitment to volunteer monitoring or participatory science
  • Investment of substantial time in stream monitoring efforts
  • Participation in a diverse range of water quality-related activities
  • Support of stream stewardship
  • A record of sharing skills and information about water quality with others
  • A commitment to developing relationships and partnerships in stream monitoring efforts
  • A record of how the nominee’s work has benefited Wisconsin streams or rivers

Previous award recipients may be nominated again, however, include only work done since last winning the award.

How to Submit a Nomination:

Ready to nominate someone?

Step 1: Please submit the following information online via our Google Form:

  • Nominator’s name, address, email address, phone number
  • Nominee’s name, address, email address, phone number
  • Location of monitoring: preferably including the county(s) and the stream/river/watershed

Submit nomination form

Step 2: Please email required supporting documents to wav@extension.wisc.edu:

  • Supporting documents: 
    • A (1-2 page) description of how the nominee’s contributions meet some or all of the qualities listed in the award criteria above
    • One letter of support from someone other than the nominator or the nominee
    • (Optional) Supporting information such as news articles, event flyers, educational materials developed etc. (Limit of two documents.)

Email supporting documents

Nomination deadline is December 1, 2024

Questions? Email the Water Action Volunteers Program Manager at wav@extension.wisc.edu.

Previous award recipients


Outstanding Volunteer: Karen Doyle, Waukesha County

Outstanding Volunteer Group: Rush River Macroinvertebrate Team, Pierce County

Outstanding Coordinator: Bob Jozwowski, Central Wisconsin Trout Unlimited

Outstanding Coordinator: Jessica Orlofske, University of Wisconsin-Parkside


Adult: Barb Bauer and Paula Brandmeier, Token Creek Conservancy


Adult: Connie Hagen, Rock River Coalition and Friends of Lake Kegonsa

Adult: Paul and Kathy Byrne, Crawford Stewardship Project


Educator: Wendy Lutzke

Group: Pecatonica Pride Watershed Association

Adult: Bruce and Sue Ristow

Business: GEI Consultants


Pioneer:  In Memory of Ron Martin, Lodi

Group: UW-Whitewater Sustainability Office Student Volunteers, Whitewater

Adult: Bob and Linda Merline, Fish Creek

Employee: Bob Sampson, Grande Cheese, Juda

Rookie: Green Lake Watershed WAV (Water Action Volunteers)


Group: Central Wisconsin Trout Unlimited River Keepers

Adult: Bill and Debbi Hiller, Desoto

Employee: John Delaney, Valley Stewardship Network

Teacher: Jaime Weigel, Whitewater

Rookie: Southern Brown Conservation Club, Brown County


Group: Milwaukee Riverkeeper

Adult: Dick Tripp, Green County

Adult: Dick & Judi Oehler, Vilas County

Teacher: Jean Abreu, Marathon County


Group: Valley Stewardship Network, Viroqua

Adult: Dave Hackett and Ellen Brooks, Gays Mills

Adult: Bill and Lisa Keen, Verona

Adult: Laura DeGolier, Fond du Lac

Employee: Patricia Cicero, Jefferson County

Teacher: Charlie Frisk, Green Bay

Student: Camryn Kluetmeier, Madison



Group: Upper Sugar River Watershed Association

Adult: Rollie Alger, Phelps

Employee: Pat Cardiff, Grande Cheese

Student: Will Sherwin, Valley Stewardship Network


Group: Friends of the Yahara River Headwaters

Adult: Rick Fahrenkrug, Central Wisconsin Trout Unlimited River Keepers

Employee: Nancy Sheehan, Rock River Coalition

Teacher/Students: The Lower Fox River Watershed Monitoring Program


Group: Crawford Stewardship Project

Adult: John Gremmer, Central Wisconsin Trout Unlimited Riverkeepers

Employee: Joe Rath, Milwaukee Riverkeeper

Teacher/Classroom: Dan Hannen-Starr and the Menominee Indian High School

Student: Maya Dizack, Racine


Adult: Jim Engstrom and Jim Gennrich, Milwaukee Riverkeeper, Grafton and Milwaukee

Adult: Paul Hayes, Valley Stewardship Network, Viroqua

Employee: Jayne Henderson, Riveredge Nature Center, Newburg

Employee:  Anne MIller, Rock County Land Conservation Department, Janesville

Teacher/Classroom: Mari Grobschmidt and Kim Leinweber of The Prairie School, Racine


Group: Central Wisconsin Trout Unlimited Riverkeepers

Adult: Ted Ludwig, Colfax

Employee: Anna Mares, Beaver Creek Citizen Science Center, Fall Creek

Teacher/Classroom: Tracy Swedlund, Kristine Gingras, and Tran Brooks of Medford Area Senior High


Group: The South Fork Flambeau River Watershed Association

Adult: Dick Pollock, Oshkosh

Employee: Mary Holleback, Riveredge Nature Center, Newburg

Teacher/Classroom: Jon Johnson and his Environmental Science Classes at Galesville-Ettrick-Trempealeau High School



Group: Bad River Watershed Association

Adult: Gary Thompson, Valley Stewardship Network, Viroqua

Employee: Cheryl Nenn, Milwaukee Riverkeeper, Milwaukee

Teacher/Classroom: Jill Graf, Robert Eady and the Environmental Monitoring Class at the Conserve School, Land O’ Lakes

Student: Juli Bridge, Waukesha

Student: Amber Johnson, Solon Springs


Group:  Central Wisconsin Chapter of Trout Unlimited

Group: Pewaukee River Partnership

Adult: Janice Redford, Rockdale

Employee: Jayne Jenks, Waukesha County Department of Parks and Land Use, Waukesha

Teacher: Jim Korb and Jefferson Elementary School teachers and students, Richland Center

Student: Patrick Cassidy, Sheboygan


Pioneer: Pete Jopke, Madison

Group: Beaver Creek Citizen Science Center, Fall Creek

Adult: Don Campbell, Eau Claire

Employee: Nancy Turyk, UWSP Center for Watershed Education, Stevens Point

Teacher: Charles Bomar, UW-Stout, Menomonie


Pioneer: Jim Hlaban, Odgensburg

Group: Rock River Coalition, Inc., Water Quality Issue Team, Jefferson

Adult: Allen Bauman, Mineral Point

Teacher: Tim Sprain, Longfellow School, LaCrosse

Honorable Mention: Girl Scout Troop 508, Black River Falls


Pioneer: Suzanne Wade, Jefferson

Group: Fish Creek Watershed Study Group, Gibraltar

Adult: Chuck Hatfield, Viroqua

Employee: Jeremy Williamson, Polk County Land and Water Resources Conservation Department, Balsam Lake

Teacher: Eric Johannesen, Iowa-Grant HS, Livingston


Group: Duncan Creek Stream Monitoring Project, Chippewa Falls

Adult: Phil Emmling, Madison

Teacher: Gerald Friday, Milwaukee

Teacher:  Debra Weitzel, Middleton